Forget the Past, Live in History

I have no idea yet what this is going to look like.

I am about to turn 40 years old, and most of what I have spent my young adult life building is about to vanish.

All I know is who I am, what the Truth is, and that I am a very, very weird person.

It may be a book, a collection of music, a film, a comic book, a cartoon… right now I have no idea.

What I do know is that CS Lewis and JRR Tolkien are great, but let’s face it, intentional or not, they wrote hippy fodder.

The 21st Century needs a different idiom to get people to ask the serious questions about what it means to be human and what it means to fight a righteous cause in the face of insurmountable odds — by which I mean the quest to willing assent to our salvation through God’s grace. To become human.

Science fiction, good science fiction, is obsessed with this question: what does it mean to be human? I, for one, am sick of leaving the attempts to answer this question to people who don’t already know what it is.

Doxacon is launching this year. Sadly, I can’t go. But hopefully i can get tapped into the dialog and find the right path.

I’m tired of sitting on the couch passively experiencing other people’s floundering attempts to find a truth they don’t know when I already know what it is. I need to do something. After all, I know the answer.

It may be a long time in coming.

But watch this space.

4 thoughts on “Forget the Past, Live in History

  1. I really like the sound of this… Even though I can’t get myself to think of anything CS Lewis wrote as “hippy fodder” (Tolkien TOTALLY).

Please Converse with Me

